The Actor and The Scientist

A Tale of Two Sisters' Trials & Triumphs in the Kitchen (and Out)

Sneaky meatless monday

I have decided to give Meatless Monday a try. As you may already know, Paul and I love our meat! In our minds, if a meal doesn’t have an all-star chicken breast, burger, steak or the like then it’s not really a meal. It is hard to get out of that mindset! Due to a variety of reasons, I have decided to try Meatless Mondays.

This Monday was the beginning of the school year and there was a welcome dinner in which all graduate students were invited. Can’t pass up free food! I had planned a meatless meal but didn’t get around to making it until last night.

Paul meets sneaky meatless monday. I heard Paul say multiple times last night “this dinner is awesome”. When finally I gave in and asked him where the meat was. He looked around the table completely surprised. Sneak attack = Meatless Monday success!

I made a fresh tomato salsa that Paul gobbled up with some tortilla chips and veggie quesadillas with mashed avocado for dipping.

Fresh tomato salsa is incredibly easy! Just have to take the time to chop everything up. The important pieces to remember are 1. things that give some flavor such as onion, lime and cilantro. I LOVE cilantro so I typically put in a ton. and 2. how spicy you want it. This time I got a bag of jalepenos from my csa and I included 3 mild and 3 spicy jalepenos. I don’t like things too spicy so I tasted each one before chopping and adding it. Note to self: Do NOT touch eyes after handling spicy jalepenos.

And while you’re chopping might as well chop up a little more to put in a quesadilla.

That’s shredded sweet potato, not cheese in there. I read about this idea and had to try it. After those veggies got cookin I also added some mushrooms and spinach.

Now that’s a quesadilla filling worthy of Meatless Monday. I considered adding some beans but I didn’t have any around and I thought they might take away from the awesome veggies.

Now, we love our sour cream in this house too. I have tried substituting greek yogurt or mixing the two. It’s just not the same. I resolved to just not buy it and instead I mashed up an avocado. Need something creamy to dip the quesadilla in!

We also had some watermelon to round out our dinner. It was really good except I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t taste the sweet potato. Next time I might try something more like this sweet potato black bean quesadilla. Syndra wanted some too.

Salsa Recipe

2 slicing tomatoes (really any tomatoes will work)
3/4  red bell pepper
3/4  green bell pepper
1 onion
1/2 bunch of cilantro
1 lime
6 jalepeno peppers (can vary depending on how spicy)

Chop and combine tomatoes, peppers, onion and cilantro. Add the juice of the lime and mix. Good immediately, but better if chilled for a couple hours.

Quesadilla Recipe (makes 3 quesadillas)

1/4 green bell pepper, sliced
1/4 red bell pepper, sliced
1/2 onion, sliced
1/4 sweet potato, shredded
1/3 cup chopped mushrooms
1 handful fresh spinach
1 tsp olive oil
6 whole wheat tortillas
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Combine first 4 with olive oil and saute a few minutes. Add mushrooms, then spinach and continue to saute until spinach is wilted. In a fresh pan make quesadilla by layering tortilla, cheese, 1/3 of filling, cheese and final tortilla. After cheese has thoroughly begun to melt flip. Optional: sour cream, guacamole/avocado, salsa.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

